header image

About the Boreas Quartet

The Boreas Quartet has firmly established itself as the leading ensemble of the next generation of top quality low brass musicians. The Boreas Quartet reached international acclaim as their debut album, “The Serpent’s Kiss,” was the winner of the 2016 ITEA Roger Bobo Award for Recording Excellence in Chamber Music.  The highest award of its kind for low brass.  Known for their emotional power, and electrifying skill, the Boreas Quartet preforms and records thrilling works for tuba- euphonium quartet and beyond.  The group has arranged various masterworks and other rousing pieces for their performances, in an effort to give the music a fresh sound, and expand the low brass repertoire. Their second album, “Whirlwind,” is in post-production and will be released in 2017.  Boreas Quartet members, Kyohei Ando, Dr. Matthew Mireles, Clayton Maddox, and Will Hammer are also highly successful soloists, conductors, ensemble musicians, leaders, and teachers.


Eric Ewazen - "Myths and Legends"

I. Allegro Ritmico

Eugène Bozza - "Trois pièces"

I. Allegro

II. Moderato

III. Allegro Vivo

Vitorrio Monti - "Czardas"

Georges Bizet, arr. Robert Elkjer - "Selections from Carmen"

I. Prelude to Act IV

II. Seguidilla

III. Intermezzo

IV. Habanera

V. Overture

Bee Gees, arr. Robert Elkjer - "Stayin' Alive"

Eric Ewazen - Grand Canyon Octet

I. Allegro Maestoso