header image

About Geoffrey Durbin

Geoffrey Durbin is a Memphis-based euphoniumist and trombonist, currently on faculty at Murray State University and a member of the Yamaha-endorsed, San Diego based brass quintet, Presidio Brass. He was the winner of the first-place gold medal at the prestigious Leonard Falcone Euphonium Competition in 2013.

Mr. Durbin enjoys an active livelihood as a soloist, clinician, and freelance musician. His musicianship, versatility, and virtuosity has allowed him to perform with artists such as Doc Severinsen and Ruben Studdard. His solo appearances include the 2014 United States Army Band Tuba and Euphonium Conference at Fort Myer in Arlington, VA and the 2015 South Central Tuba and Euphonium Conference featuring the premiere of Kevin McKenzie's "Matros". He is also a current member of the ATLAS Quartet and has been an active recording musician with his playing heard on more than twenty albums.

In addition to his victory at the Leonard Falcone competition, he was the winner of the 2013 South Central Regional Tuba and Euphonium Competition, earning him a performance of Luc Vertommen's Carmen Fantasy with the Louisiana State University Wind Ensemble and the University of Memphis Concerto Competition, earning him a performance of John Stevens' Euphonium Concerto with the University of Memphis Symphony Orchestra.

As an educator, his students have occupied positions in the Texas, Tennessee, and Pennsylvania All-State Bands, the University of North Texas Symphonic Band, the Lone Star Youth Wind Orchestra and accepted to festivals and competitions as the Leonard Falcone Euphonium Competition (Student division), United States Marine Band Concerto Competition, and the Indiana University Summer Music Clinic. Mr. Durbin has earned degrees from Indiana University of Pennsylvania and the University of North Texas and his primary teachers have been Dr. Brian Bowman, Dr. Gary Bird, and Dr. John Mueller.



Euphonium Concerto (2012) Kevin McKenzie

I. Fantasy

II. Dreams

III. Nightmares

Tardigrade (2016) Max Friedman

Beale Street Blues (1916) WC Handy Arr. Geoff Durbin

Zach Marley, trombone